College Hockey America All-Academic Team Announced

College Hockey America All-Academic Team Announced

CHA All-Academic Release PDF




 HAVERHILL, Mass. -- Commisioner Robert DeGregorio has announced today that 54 student-athletes have been named to the College Hockey America All-Academic Team.

Robert Morris’ senior forward, Brianna Delaney, and freshman foward, Katelyn Scott have been named the Top Scholar-Athletes for the 2011-12 season, both earned perfect 4.0 overall grade point average during the playing season. Delaney is an Elementary Education major from Stittsville, Ontario, scored 10 goals and dished out 18 assists for 28 points. Scott is an Actuarial Science major from Brighton, Mich. scored one goal and had two assists. 

Along with being named the CHA Top Scholar-Athletes, Delaney and Scott both also earned a spot on the Academic All-Star Team, for posting the highest GPA at their position. The defensive pairing for the Academic All-Star Team are Robert Morris sophomore Anneline Lauziere and senior Kathryn Stack. On the forward line for the Academic All- Star squad are Robert Morris Delaney and Scott; and teammate sophomore Thea Imbrogno. Mercyhurst’s junior goaltender, Stephanie Ciampa finishes off the 2011-12 CHA All-Academic Team.

Of the 54 student-athletes that were recognized as member of the All-Academic Team this season, Niagara had a high of 16 members, while Robert Morris followed with 14 student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team. There are four members of the All-Academic Team that were also named to the All-Tournament Team. There is also two members that were also named to the First Team All-Conference this past season, while four others were honored with Second Team All-Conference honors. Two members of the All-Rookie Team are also named to the All-Academic Team this season.

To qualify for the College Hockey America All-Academic Team an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in all of the academic periods during which his team was actively competing. College Hockey America’s Top Scholar Athlete is an award given annually to the player or players who achieves the highest grade point average over the course of the academic semesters of competition.

Academic All-Star Team

Stephanie Ciampa Goalie Mercyhurst

Anneline Lauziere Defense Robert Morris

Kathryn Stack Defense Robert Morris 

Brianna Delaney Forward Robert Morris

Thea Imbrogno Forward Robert Morris

Katelyn Scott Forward Robert Morris


2011-12 College Hockey America All-Academic Team

MERCYHURST (12): Shelby Bram (Freshman, Forward, St. Anne, Manitoba); Hailey Browne (Freshman, Foward, Oakville, Ontario); Gina Buquet (Junior, Foward, Lafayette, La.); Molly Byrne (Freshman, Defenseman, Plymouth, Minn.); Stephanie Ciampa (Junior, Goalie, Peabody, Mass.); Stephanie DeSutter (Junior, Defenseman, Aylmer, Ontario); Kristine Grenier (Freshman, Forward, St. Leon, Manitoba); Lauren Jones (Junior, Forward, Bloomington, Ill.); Caroline Luczak (Freshman, Defenseman, Midhurst, Ontario); Kelley Steadman (Senior, Forward, Plattsburgh, N.Y.); Jill Szandzik (Senior, Defenseman, Warren, Mich.); Pamela Zgoda (Senior, Defenseman, Cheektowaga, N.Y.).

NIAGARA (16): Daniela Dal Colle (Junior, Forward, Woodbridge, Ont.), Katie Dods (Sophomore, Forward, Kemptville, ONT); Natasha Fryer (Junior, Forward, Oakville, Ont.); Kallison Funk (Freshman, Forward, Roseville, Minn.); Kelsey Gunn (Freshman, Defenseman, Smiths Falls, Ont.); Jenna Hendrikx (Junior, Forward, Winchester, Ont.); Jessica Hitchcock (Sophomore, Forward, LaSalle, Ont.); Jocey Kleiber (Senior, Defenseman, Edina, Minn.); Delaney Middlebrook (Freshman, 

Defenseman, Minneapolis, Minn.); Sarah Moses (Sophomore, Goalie, New Hamburg, ONT); Erica Owczarczak (Senior, Defenseman, West Seneca, N.Y.); Kristen Richards (Sophomore, Forward, Toronto, ONT); Abigail Ryplanski (Freshman, Goalie, Winnipeg, MB); Paige Sasser (Sophomore, Goalie, Coral Springs, Fla.); May Wilkerson (Sophomore, Forward, Lakewood, Colo.); Chelsea Witwicke (Sophomore, Defenseman, Roseville, Minn.).

ROBERT MORRIS (14): Brianna Delaney (Senior, Forward, Stittsville, ONT); Cobina Delaney (Junior, Forward, Stittsville, ONT); Kristen DiCiocco (Junior, Goalie, Niagara Falls, ONT); Thea Imbrogno (Sophomore, Forward, Etobicoke, ONT); Jennifer Kindret (Junior, Forward, Winnipeg, Manitoba); Courtney Langston (Junior, Forward, Warrensburgh, Mo.);      Anneline Lauziere (Sophomore, Defenseman, St. Thomas, ONT); Dayna Newsom (Junior, Forward, Oakville, ONT); Paige Pietrangelo (Senior, Defenseman, Niagara Falls, N.Y.); Katelyn Scott (Freshman, Forward, Brighton, Mich.); Kylie St. Louis (Sophomore, Defenseman, Windsor, ONT); Kathryn Stack (Senior, Defenseman, Edmonton, ALB); Erin Staniewski (Freshman, Defenseman, Strathroy, Ontario); Courtney Vinet (Freshman, Goalie, Camrose, Alberta). 

SYRACUSE (12):  Kallie Billlladeau (Sophomore, Goalie, Minnetonka, Minn.); Holly Carrie-Mattimoe (Forward, Junior, Sherwood Park, Alberta); Nicole Ferrara (Freshman, Forward, Winthrop, Mass.); Jacquie Greco (Junior, Defenseman, Buffalo, N.Y.); Cara Johnson (Sophomore, Forward, Plymouth, Minn.); Stephanie Jones (Senior, Goalie, Thornhill, ONT); Julie Knerr (Freshman, Forward, Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec); Brittney Krebs (Sophomore, Defenseman, Marathon, N.Y.); Taylor Metcalfe (Senior, Defenseman, Oakville, Ontario); Lisa Mullan (Senior, Forward, Victoria, BC); Margot Scharfe (Sophomore, Forward, Toronto, ONT); Megan Skelly (Junior, Forward, Taber, ALB).